What Type of SSL Certificate Does Your Website Need?

Internet users are more concerned about security than ever. If you run a website, you’ll need to show them you can be trusted to provide a secure connection and protect their data. This means procuring an SSL certificate.

However, before you do, you’ll want to do some research. There are actually three main types of SSL certificates, and it’s important to understand the distinctions between each one. That way, you’ll know that you’ve obtained the right kind of certificate for your site.

An Introduction to SSL Certificates (And Why Your Site Needs One)With the right type of SSL certificate, visitors will be informed that your website is secure.

You may have noticed that while most website URLs used to begin with http://, many now start with https:// instead. This seemingly small distinction is very significant.To understand why, let’s look at ‘communication protocols’. These enable the transfer of information between a website’s server and a visitor’s browser. Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) has been the default option for a long time, but HTTP Secure (HTTPS) is a newer and safer protocol that encrypts the transmission of data over the internet.

HTTPS is increasingly being recommended for all sites. It greatly reduces the risk that malicious users can intercept and misuse sensitive data. However, in order to use HTTPS on your own website, you’ll need a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) certificate.

This activates the HTTPS protocol, creating a secure link between your website and each visitor’s browser, protecting all data transmitted between the two. It also verifies that your connection is secure, so visitors can be confident that your website is safe. Obtaining an SSL certificate isn’t difficult, but first you’ll want to understand the various options that are available.

What is SSL?

Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) is a protocol for enabling data encryption on the intranet and for helping web site users confirm the owner of the website.

What is encryption and why are there different levels?

Encryption is a mathematical process of coding and decoding information. The number of bits (40-bit, 56-bit,

What is domain control validation?

RapidSSL will confirm domain control by sending an email to the administrator listed with the registrar for the.

The 3 Types of SSL Certificates

1. Domain Validation:  This only requires you to prove that you own your site’s domain. It offers the lowest level of security, but is the quickest and cheapest option.

2. Organization Validation: These certificates can be obtained relatively quickly and are more expensive. In exchange, your visitors get further proof of your site’s security.

3. Extended Validation: If you’re running an e-commerce site or something similar, this type of certificate is recommended. It’s fairly expensive and takes some time, but provides the highest level of security.

Drop Your Comments Below

Leave a Reply